Club History

Curling is a very old Scottish sport. It isn't known, when Scottish people began playing Curling. But in the Smith Institute in Stirling is a rock with the engraved year 1511 exposed. The first report about a Curling match between two monks stems from Paisley Abbey near Glasgow and is dated February 1541. Someone named Mr. James Gall let on his tombstone engrave in Perth, Scotland, that he was a big Curling fan.

The ancient Scotland was a poor country. The Cities hadn't got a lot citizens, no public traffic existed, the land was poor and only within some months useful. So, the only occupation of the Scots was to thrash the British or steal some sheep’s of the neighbor's clan. But at all times, they did sports. The hooligans were probably a Scottish invention, because 1457, the Scottish parliament prohibited Soccer and Golf (!) because they aroused riots. Curling wasn't endangered by this prohibition although the rocks were great to hit an opponent.

The first Curling rocks weighted only 2 or 3 kg. They had the design of a hand. And so they were called "loofies" (loof=hand in old English) With the help of the time, the rocks became like today ones. The people called them boulders, gave them a handle and rounded them like the modern rocks. At the beginning, everybody knew that you must shove the rock from A to B, but no precise rules were known. Especially the length or width of the rink or the size and the weight of the rock were unknown. That's why some real boulders appeared in 18th Century. The biggest one, the "Jubilee Stone" had the weight of 58.5 kg. If this would be still so today, Curling would be a sport for strong men. Fortunately, the evolution took another way.

The curlers took the "Round Stones" with the weight of approx. 20 kg, but the first stone which had the today usual hollow grinding was used in 1784. With this hollow grind, he was able to play a twist around a guard. Today we call this curl. Through this late invention, we know that the word curling isn't based on the verb to curl but comes from the old verb to curr (to grumble).

During the summer of 1919 (in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada) when times were tough, a meeting was held and arrangements were made with Kildonan Presbyterian Church to lease some land nearby. Shares were sold to raise money to buy second hand materials required, and mostly by volunteer labor, a three sheet curling rink was erected. The water was used from the Red River, put into barrels and hauled up the bank by horses and carried to the club. There were 40 members and all had to provide their own rocks.

The rink operated here for 14 years, then due to lack of street car service, it folded. Members still kept together and rented ice at the Civic and St. John’s Curling Club during the next fives seasons (just like it had began back in 1917-18 with two sheets at St. John’s and three sheets at Elmwood in 1918-1919).

In 1938 Hilton Grose, Vic Siddall, Harry Tait, Payson Bancroft, Harry Parker, Bill Scorer met to organize and build a club with three sheets on the site of the historic battle of Seven Oaks.

Later two more sheets were added giving the Club a five sheet rink, with artificial ice and gas heaters. The members were very proud of their “curling home” and it brought a sport of fun and friendship to a whole new level.

Over 30 years the game grew and grew and with that growth brought change. The 70’s brought us the “corn broom”, “Teflon” sliders, “tuck” delivery, 10 end games, where freezing out on the ice was accepted.

The 80’s had a more modern approach, “push brooms” and “red brick” sliders (which were everywhere). Along with this modern approach of the game, the club so to had to change again. In 1985-86 the club spent $150,000 (which was a lot of money back then) on renovations to the lounge making it the envy of most.

In came the 90’s bringing the “free guard zone”, stop watches, 0:24 sec. ice and 8 end games. With the hard work of the executive the wheels were put in motion to begin what was to be the new modern rink. In 1993-94 it finally happened.

The club has come a long way from carrying water by horse, to using machines to scrap the ice. But one thing that hasn’t changed is the people who walk through its doors. They carry on a tradition of friendship and hard work that together make the West Kildonan Curling Club a place you call HOME!

Past Presidents
1919-20 J McLellanM
1920-21 J McLellan
1921-22 J McLellan
1922-23 J McLellan
1923-24 J McLellan
1924-25 D. McKay
1925-26 C.E. Nye
1926-27 C.E. Nye
1927-28 C.E. Nye
1928-29 H.C. Tait
1929-30 C.E. Nye
1930-31 C.E. Nye
1931-32 C.E. Nye
1932-33 Dr. E. Stewart
1933-34 Dr. E. Stewart
1934-35 L.P. Bancroft
1935-36 C.E. Nye
1936-37 C.E. De Pencier
1937-38 H.C. Tait
1938-39 H.R. Grose
1939-40 H.R. Grose
1940-41 W. Scorer
1941-42 J.A. MacLean
1942-43 P.B. Alderson
1943-44 P.B. Alderson
1944-45 J.J. Douglas
1945-46 J.E. Wood
1946-47 C.J. Lyon
1947-48 H.N. Phizacklea
1948-49 V. Siddal
1949-50 T.J. Spence
1950-51 L.J. Mathew
1951-52 J.D. Earls
1952-53 W. Sherk
1953-54 L.T. Lindgren
1954-55 K.D. McKean
1955-56 R.J. Mattewson
1956-57 R. Chamberlain
1957-58 R. Chamberlain
1958-59 A.S. Greer
1959-60 G. Gibson
1960-61 F. Nicholson
1961-62 C. Ketchen
1962-63 E. Shaw
1963-64 L. Bake
1964-65 D. Butcher
1965-66 N. Greer
1966-67 W. Owen
1967-68 L. Mattews
1968-69 H. Stankey
1969-70 B. Hardy
1970-71 J. Linney
1971-72 C. Baker
1972-73 A. Ingram
1973-74 M. Westmacott
1974-75 D. Ingram
1975-76 E. Lindgren
1976-77 C. Nichol
1977-78 T. Senior
1978-79 H. Zurstegge
1979-80 B. Sutherland
1980-81 J. Mirus
1981-82 K. Shostak
1982-83 S. Spring
1983-84 R. Dudek
1984-85 B. LaCombe
1985-86 G. Hnatuk
1986-87 J. Livingston
1987-88 G. Boitson
1988-89 T. Ranick
1989-90 B. Kaminski
1990-91 R. Mehmel
1991-92 M. Galagan
1992-93 J. Tomko
1993-94 R. Dearman
1994-95 R. Klassen
1995-96 W. Huta
1996-97 C. Bochen
1997-98 D. Laliberte
1998-99 L. Wasel
1999-00 N. Wawrykow
2000-01 A. Mehmel
2001-02 N. Doherty
2002-03 B. Horvath
2003-04 D. Weselak
2004-05 S. Bjornson
2005-06 P. Osato Wolfe
2006-07 T. McGinn
2007-08 Rob Humniski
2008-09 E. Turchyn
2009-10 E. Turchyn
2010-11 E. Turchyn
2011-12 E. Turchyn